Sprint 5 Retrospective

During this sprint retrospective my team spent a good amount of time testing our methods and trying to achieve positive outcomes. Unfortunately, this sprint was not as successful as we anticipated. In addition, the debugging proved very challenging and frustrating. We had a serious delay in making sure our code was valid because our tests resulted in a multitude of errors. It was very hard to pinpoint what exactly was going on with the abundance of outputs to the console. However, we were able to resolve this by adding print outs throughout our methods that determined where our code began to fault. This was tedious and time consuming, but this was very important for the development process, so we could continue making tests for our methods.

Personally, I had a lot of trouble writing the add method for the NG2-AMRS project. The first difficulty I ran into was approaching the issues of promise and callback design associated with writing TypeScript methods. I spent a large amount of time looking at code examples and following the PouchDB API. Following that, running tests in my spec file resulted in many errors. Some of these were resolved with code changes, while other times I had to reinstall the NPM modules. This week I learned how important it is to be patient when testing and to not get discouraged. Next time I will be a little more patient and take the time to research errors that show up in the console.

This week I plan on completing the testing for the add method and make that there are an adequate amount of test cases. One of the main challenges I have had is confusing the different commands: “toBe,” “toBeTrue,” and “toBeTruthy.” It was interesting to read about what situations these functions shine. By doing this, I learned that I needed to do more research on how to test, and why knowing the variety of ways to execute tests is important. Next time I will do this differently. Another issue that occurred with the add method is that sometimes an object would upload and then it would not be recognized. While we were debugging the add method, during runtime, it would fail at a certain point that was difficult to pinpoint. I also attempted to fix the clear method where it would call the pouch function destroy, and then create a new pouch existence. While this seems straightforward, the functionality of the method did not execute correctly. However, this was shortly resolved. Next time I will consult my teammates or stack overflow sooner, rather than consult them later. In general, I feel like my team is working hard and contributing fairly.

Overall, I feel like I have a good understanding about what I need to do that will help me succeed and deliver our offline data storage service to Ampath. Testing TypeScript code is something I wish I spent more time learning at the beginning of last sprint, for the challenge is now evident. Hopefully, our communication with other teams will remain strong as we begin to merge tasks. Also, I hope any issues that occur when this happens are very minor. As we get closer to the end of the semester, we need to fix the small amount of issues we have, and then we will be complete.

Leave a comment